Email: committeeservices@horsham.gov.uk

Direct line: 01403 215465



# Council

Wednesday, 8th May, 2024 at 6.00 pm Conference Room, Parkside, Chart Way, Horsham

To: All Members of the Council

(Please note that prayers will be taken by The Reverend Canon Lisa Barnett, Team Rector of Horsham, before the meeting commences)

You are summoned to the meeting to transact the following business

Jane Eaton Chief Executive

## **Agenda**

Page No.

#### GUIDANCE ON COUNCIL PROCEDURE

- 1. Apologies for absence
- 2. To elect a Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year
- 3. To move a vote of thanks to the retiring Chairman
- 4. To appoint a Vice-Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year
- 5. To receive any announcements from the Chairman of the Council or the Chief Executive
- 6. **Review of Political Balance and Allocation of Seats to Political Groups** 7 10

  To receive the report of the Monitoring Officer
- 7. To appoint the Overview and Scrutiny Committee of the Council for the ensuing year

To appoint Members to the Overview and Scrutiny Committee for the year in accordance with the Political Balance report (15 Members)

Note: The Overview and Scrutiny Committee has the functions set out in Article 6 of the Council's Constitution

Neither Cabinet Members nor the Chairman of the Council may be members of Overview and Scrutiny Committees

#### 8. Constitution of the Planning and Employment Committees

Note: Membership of the Planning and Employment Committees are constituted as set out in 10(a) and 10(b) below respectively rather than by political balance, in accordance with the Political Balance report

- a) To appoint the Planning Committees of the Council and Members thereto for the year:
  - (i) Planning Committee (North), all Ward Members for the area of the Committee, namely: Horsham (unparished area) and the parishes of Broadbridge Heath, Colgate, Itchingfield, Lower Beeding, North Horsham, Nuthurst, Rudgwick, Rusper, Shipley, Slinfold, Southwater and Warnham, with the exception of any Members who have opted out of the Committee for the municipal year, together with the Cabinet Member with responsibility for Development Management and the Chairman of the Planning Committee (South)
  - (ii) Planning Committee (South), all Ward Members for the area of the Committee, namely: the parishes of Amberley, Ashington, Ashurst, Billingshurst, Bramber, Coldwaltham, Cowfold, Henfield, Parham, Pulborough, Shermanbury, Steyning, Storrington & Sullington, Thakeham, Upper Beeding, Washington, West Chiltington, West Grinstead, Wiston and Woodmancote, with the exception of any Members who have opted out of the Committee for the municipal year, together with the Cabinet Member with responsibility for Development Management and the Chairman of the Planning Committee (North)
- b) To appoint the Employment Committee of the Council and Members thereto for the year: The Chairman of the Council, Leader of the Council and Leader of the Minority Group (3 Members) plus a pool of six non-voting Member cooptees

#### 9. To appoint the ordinary Committees of the Council for the year

To appoint the following ordinary Committees of the Council, and the Members to those Committees, for the year in accordance with the Political Balance report

- (a) Audit Committee (7 Members)
- (b) Governance Committee (to include the Chairman of the Council, the Chairman of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee and one Member of the Cabinet) (9 Members)
- (c) Licensing Committee (15 Members)
- (d) Standards Committee (7 Members plus two Parish Council Representatives nominated by the Horsham Association of Local Councils (HALC) and two independent persons already co-opted)

# 10. To appoint Members to the Henfield Commons Joint Committee (3 Members of the Council)

To appoint two Members for the Henfield Ward and one Member for the Bramber, Upper Beeding & Woodmancote Ward

### 11. Policy Development Advisory Groups

To appoint up to 22 Members to each of the Cabinet Members' Policy Development Advisory Groups

#### 12. Ordinary meetings of the Council

(a) To confirm the programme of ordinary meetings of the Council for the year, as follows:

Wednesday 5 June 2024 Wednesday 17 July 2024 Wednesday 16 October 2024 Wednesday 11 December 2024 Monday 24 February 2025 Wednesday 2 April 2025 Wednesday 23 April 2025 (Annual Meeting)

(b) To agree the time of ordinary meetings of the Council for the year